Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan

Release Date: August 24, 2010

Since departing the celebrated Scottish indie-pop outfit Belle and Sebastian in 2002, Isobel Campbell has built a singularly impressive body of work, one that contains several solo albums as well as critically acclaimed collaborations with former Screaming Trees frontman Mark Lanegan and jazz musician Bill Wells. This summer Vanguard Records is extending that catalog with the August 24th release of Campbell’s haunting new album, Hawk.

Produced by the singer herself in a series of locations around the world, the set finds Campbell continuing her investigation into the darker corners of American roots music. Lanegan lends his signature blues-folk growl to eight of the album’s 13 tracks, while the young U.S. singer Willy Mason shows up for a pair of tunes, including a stripped-down rendition of “No Place to Fall” by the late Texas songwriter Townes Van Zandt. Campbell and Lanegan duet on another Van Zandt number, “Snake Song,” and former Smashing Pumpkins guitarist James Iha appears on the track “You Won’t Let Me Down Again.”

Press Release:
Vanguard Records To Release Isobel Campbell’s ‘Hawk’ PR, word doc
Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan Announce First U.S. Tour PR, word doc
‘Hear ‘Hawk’ Before You Buy It’ With Innovative New Facebook Application PR, word doc

‘Hawk’ Bio, word doc

What The Press Is Saying:
‘Hawk’ Quote Sheet, word doc
“Hawk” Press Clips, PDF

Related Sites:

Streaming Tracks:


Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan
“You Won’t Let me Down Again”

Photos: 300 dpi (click to download)
Photo Credit: Lauren Dukoff